Fricke wins 3rd consecutive Under 21 Aussie Title

Max put in a fantastic performance on Saturday 17 January, 2015 to win his third consecutive Under 21 Australian Speedway Title at Kurri Kurri in NSW.

“With tensions high, the race was eventually run after three restarts, said Max.    “A rider came down in the first corner at the first attempt and all 4 riders were allowed back to restart.  On the second attempt, I was pushed wide on the second corner into the fence and totally wrecked my bike. Jake Allen was subsequently excluded from the restart.  My support team were in the pits under extreme pressure to get my spare bike ready to race but I gated pretty well was in the lead coming out of the second corner and then managed to hold off the other competitors to take the win.

Retaining this Title was a major focus of mine over the Summer period.  It is always a hotly contested event with the talent of the riders improving all the time.

The top 6 -7 riders in this event all really want to do well because whoever takes first and second place automatically gets a start in the individual World Under 21 qualifying events which are held in Europe later in the year” he continued.

“Having won this event now on 3 occasions I’m now in the exclusive company of just three other riders to also have won the event on three occasions.  The title has been won four times by 2012 World Champion, Chris Holder and Australian great, Leigh Adams.  I still have time to have another two goes at it and it would be fantastic to be able to win it at least one more time to be able to match these guys who I consider to be amongst the best riders Australia has ever produced” said Max.

L-R:  Brady Kurtz 3rd, Max Fricke 1st, Jack Holder 2nd, Jake Allen 4th
L-R: Brady Kurtz 3rd, Max Fricke 1st, Jack Holder 2nd, Jake Allen 4th